Dr.LS Harishchandra Best Neurosurgeon Chennai MGM Healthcare

Dr L S Harishchandra

Consultant Neurosurgery

Dr Harishchandra is a Consultant Neurosurgeon specialised in Paediatric Neurosurgery, Functional Neurosurgery, and Epilepsy Surgery. Following completion of neurosurgical training, he has worked at the prestigious King’s College Hospital (London), Alder Hey Children’s Hospital (Liverpool) in UK and Dana-Dwek Children’s Hospital in Israel. He has gained immense experience in treating Neurosurgical Disorders in Children (Tumours, Spina Bifida, Craniosynostosis, Hydrocephalus, Spasticity, and Epileptic Disorders), Movement Disorder Surgery (DBS for Parkinson’s disease, Tremors, Dystonia) and Epilepsy Surgery (Hemispherotomy, Callosotomy, Temporal Lobectomy, and Vagal Nerve Stimulation). He has also been involved in several research projects, published in national and international peer reviewed journals, and presented at national and international forums in the field of Paediatric Neurosurgery, Movement disorder and Epilepsy surgery.


MBBS (Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery)
Chengalpettu Medical College

MCh (Master of Chirurgiae) in Neurosurgery
Madras Medical College, Chennai


Fellow, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons (FRCS), Glasgow

Society of British Neurological Surgeons (SBNS)

Congress of Neurological Surgeons (CNS)

European Society of Stereotactic and Functional Neurosurgery

World Society of Stereotactic and Functional Neurosurgery

International Society Paediatric Neurosurgery (ISPN)

Indian Society Paediatric Neurosurgery (IndSPN)

Neurological Society of India (NSI)

Neurological Surgeons Society of India (NSSI)

Paediatric Neurosurgery Fellow, Alder Hey Children’s Hospital, Liverpool, U.K

Paedritric Neurosurgery Fellow, Dana – Dwek Children’s Hospital, Tel Aviv, Israel

Functional / Epilepsy Surgery Fellow, King’s College Hospital, London, UK


Torrent Young Scholar award in Neurosurgery

Thiru C V Charry memorial prize for Neurosurgery

Fred Epstein Scholarship at ISPN 2018

Medal winner for FRCS Neurosurgery

More Doctors

Dr Saranyan
MS, MCh (Neurosurgery) Consultant Neurosurgery Know More
Dr Rajesh Menon Moothedath
Associate Consultant – Department of Neurosurgery Neurosurgery Know More
Dr.Roopesh Kumar
Director of Neurosurgery Neurosurgery Know More
Dr Visvanathan Krishnaswamy
Senior Consultant Neurosurgery Know More